Posted by: brigid benson | November 10, 2010

Sea Mist

The rugged coast of North Cornwall, one of my favourite parts of the British shoreline, is spectacular in autumn and winter.

I am lucky to know it well, having spent childhood summer holidays tramping around the coast, with surf boards and buckets and spades, making sandcastles on sweeping beaches and skinny dipping in hideaway coves.

On a recent trip I called in to see friends my friends Sarah and Cheyne  at Constantine Bay Surf School.  For the first time in a few years the duo are staying put in Britain over winter and rather than fly off to tropical and exotic destinations. They’ve  been inspired by my book – 52 Weekends by the Sea –  to discover the wonders of Great Britain and I’m feeling very flattered!

At the Sunset Surf Cafe on Gwithian Towans, I photographed a modern art arrangement of borrowed boots and gloves set up to dry on pegs.

And  early one morning, after scraping a thick layer of ice from the car windscreen, I drove down to lovely Porth Cothan beach where I was greeted an eerie vapour cloud of beautiful sea mist hanging over the Atlantic ocean

Surf sculpture at the Sunset Surf Cafe

Constantine Bay surf store & school - among the very best

Early one autumn morning, beside the Atlantic Ocean


Leave a Reply

Categories