Posted by: brigid benson | May 5, 2011

Deep in a bluebell wood

I’ve been doing a lot of travelling up and down Britain for work lately.  I am enormously fortunate to know the UK so well – all around the coast and inland.

I’m a madly curious soul, I find it hard just to pass through places that capture my attention in some way, even if it’s just one sign, or one building, I am always hungry to know more. My notebook – my lifeline – is  full of scribbles urging me to GO BACK TO SEE THAT THING IN WHEREVER IT WAS – NEED TO KNOW MORE ABOUT IT. And I often do, even if it is years later.  It’s a great feeling to achieve that.

Last week I was in areas where mobile signals were poor just at the moment when I had to make an important call.  Without a phone box I was frustrated. I pulled the car into a lane and turned to see the magnificent bluebell wood in the photo below. I opened the car door; the bluebell scent was intoxicating. Tiptoeing through them with bird song resounding I soon dumped the frustration and gave into sheer delight at such unexpected pleasure.

And here are photos of two more discoveries that caught my eye – nesting birds and a strange sign in a pretty  rural village – ‘ one pair of underpants mysteriously arrived. Would like to be reunited with owner.’

Just one more thing, thanks to everyone who has reviewed my book, 52 Weekends by the Sea so positively. What a huge thrill to receive such terrific feedback. The desire was always to inspire others to use my top tips, insider knowledge and first hand experience of special people and places to create their own adventures, and it looks like that’s happening – here’s a recent Amazon review.  Big thanks to everyone who has taken the trouble to post them. Makes me feel very proud.

‘IF YOU LOVE THE SEAS, COAST OR BEACHES THIS IS A GREAT BOOK SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE, HAVE STARTED TO WORK OUR WAY THROUGH ALL THE VISITS’

See more about 52 Weekends by the Sea  at www.52hq.co.uk


Leave a Reply

Categories