Posted by: brigid benson | December 7, 2011

Snow business

Pretty as a picture    West Linton    Coffee rescue

This time last year I was caught up in the huge complications caused by heavy snow across Scotland. A journey that usually took me six hours took me six days; for many of them I was stranded in the beautiful city of Perth on the mighty river Tay, watching chunks of ice from the far northern reaches of Scotland floating down the river.  With trepidation and a snowy forecast, I attended a meeting in Edinburgh this week, and, far from the horrors of last year, I could actually savour the beauty of the whiteout.

Here are pictures, taken as usual on my phone, of the day. I travelled via Biggar, an area I’m hugely fond of through the wee sandstone village of West Linton with its fine church. I was early for my meeting and as I waited I dreamed of hot coffee. To my delight, a little van showed up to serve me freshly ground beans in a delicious latte. The meeting went well too.

Christmas trees au naturel

St Andrews kirk, West Linton

Fantastically fresh ground coffee from a wee van

Moon rising over snowy fields, late afternoon

For more travels of my travels and inspired ideas for your own adventures all around the shores of Britain, see my book 52 Weekends by the Sea, available online and in all good bookstores.

See the beautiful website www.52hq.co.uk for inspiration and escape…


Leave a Reply

Categories